z

Young Writers Society

Helpful Ideas

657 Reviews

Reviews: 657
Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:10 pm
Jennafina says...

I'm not a NaNoWriMo whiz or anything; this is my first year, but I found some things that help me, and thought I'd share. :D

-Don't listen to music with words. It really makes it hard to concentrate on writing. (Unless it's Enya or something else really soft and slurred.) Try something cool with out words. I'm listening to the Pirates of the Carribean sound track. Probably most soundtracks are great for this.

-Draw (or find) a picture of your character, and put it by your computer. My story is about an Egyptian girl, so I looked through my Egyptology books, found a statue that looks like she does, made a photocopy of it, colored it in and added hair, and taped it to my moniter. Then every time I start to give up, she looks at me angrily, and I keep going. Maybe that only works for crazy people like me though.

-Don't try to write for five hors at a time. For me, it's easier to tell myself I'm going to write for thirty minutes, and then take a break, and start up again later. Otherwise, I end up getting distracted and losing interest.

-Write down your word count, then write as fast as you can for ten minutes, then check again. For me, it's really cool to see the number get bigger in a short amount of time. Like a writing sprint. Also, often, I forget to time and just keep going.

-Save a lot. This isn't quite as relevant as my other tips, but I just lost a bit because the power went out for a second. It could have been worse, though. :)

If anyone has anything to add, that would be cool. :) I hope these are useful.
Jennafina's Love Your Body Already Dammit Campaign

forum353.html

(To find out what it really is, just click.)

820 Reviews

Reviews: 820
Tue Nov 07, 2006 10:27 am
Myth says...