z

Young Writers Society

The Unknown

Random avatar

Reviews: 19
Sun Sep 25, 2005 4:13 am
View Likes
amoerizzle says...

This is my first attempt at this storybook stuff....we'll see if I know what the heck I'm doing.

I'm not sure why I'm standing here talking to the one person whom I've always hated. I'm not sure why she's talking right back to me. I don't know where I am or how I got here and why I'm not off somewhere else, doing what I had planned on doing tonight. We fall into an awkward silence. I shift my weight and stare into my drink. I don't know what it is, I don't know why I'm drinking it.

701 Reviews

Reviews: 701
Sun Sep 25, 2005 7:43 am
View Likes
bubblewrapped says...

I suppose I should start at the beginning, and explain who she is and why I hate her so much. Maybe that will give me some sort of clarity. Her name is Mary-Beth Simons - I know, it makes me sick too - and we've been enemies since the first grade, when she dipped on of my pigtails into the blue paint and told the teacher I did it on purpose. Looking back, it seems kind of trivial. Is this the way wars are started? Over some little girl's pigtails? I hope not. But it happened that way with us. Of course, it didnt help that she grew up to be pretty and popular, and I became...well, the opposite. Oh, not that I'm ugly or anything, but Mary-Beth is in a class of good looks all her own.
I take a sip of my drink. It tastes bitter, and I wonder fleetingly if someone may have spiked it. I wouldnt know. I cant remember anything. A grey fog seems to have descended over my mind, obliterating all life before and after this second. I watch Mary-Beth take a swig of beer, somehow managing to seem calm and elegant. God, she's so irritating. Why does she have to be so perfect?
Got a poem or short story you want me to critique?

There is only one success: to be able to spend your life in your own way, and not to give others absurd maddening claims upon it. (C D Morley)

196 Reviews

Reviews: 196