z

Young Writers Society

The 'grim is coming for you.

264 Reviews

Reviews: 264
Sat Jun 13, 2015 1:07 pm
View Likes
Megrim says...

I'm Megrim, and I'm totally into reviewing your story! Thing is, because I do this professionally, I have a hard time toning it down, and that's resulted in a lot of crushed spirits. Therefore, I've learned the hard way not to inflict myself on the unsuspecting, and I prefer to critique on a by-request basis.

Why should you care what I have to say? I'm a full-time sci-fi/fantasy author represented by the Donald Mass Literary Agency. I'm an experienced critiquer and beta-reader, and have had good success with writing contests and pitches. I'm here because I'm curious to read your writing, and hopefully to help guide and encourage new writers.

As far as critique style, you'll be getting a broader view of the progression of story and character. I'm not going to give you wording suggestions or correct your punctuation. I'll be looking at things like...
- Character motivations and agency
- Clarity of worldbuilding
- Balance of description vs action
- Plot momentum and pacing
Feel free to browse old reviews for a sample of style. It's a bit different for every story and every person.

-> Please link what you want critiqued. It also helps me if you specify whether this is an in-progress first draft, a finished manuscript, etc. Wordcount is nice to know, too, as well as a bit of description so I know what to expect.

Types of Submissions
Novels: I write novels. This is my bread and butter. I will happily read whatever chapters you want. Unless specified, I'll start at the beginning and read/review as I see fit.
Short Stories and Flash Fiction: I'm also an avid flash fiction writer and have been delving into the world of shorter fiction. I'm less experienced with these, but learning.