z

Young Writers Society

The Ginger Bread House

355 Reviews

Reviews: 355
Sat Sep 10, 2011 1:02 am
LadySpark says...

Stomp. Stomp. Stomp.

"What could be stomping around at this time of night?" I say, standing up to walk to my window.

Oh, I see, you don't know who I am, do you?
I'm the lady who lives-- no. Not in the shoe. That's the little old lady.
I'm the lady who lives in the gingerbread house.
Oh, you haven't heard of it? That's a shame. Not many people have. Those who have pay admission to come and have a meal here.
I'm a quite good cook. But I'm better at making candy. Desert is my favoirte part of all those meals.

Ah, but yes, we were going to see who was stomping outside my door. It's two little children. Quite pudgy children.

Now, you might think that becuase I live in a house of candy, I would be pudgy. But no. I never eat candy. I would rather eat salads and fruit. Yes, strange, isn't it?

The children are licking my house. I wish people wouldn't do that. I much prefer them to wait nicely so I can give them something out of my pantry.

People are worse than ants in that regard.

I open the door, ready to shoo them away, like I do the crows that sometimes come around.

"Oh look!" the girl says, her mouth covered in the red food coloring of my lollipop door handle. "It's a little old lady!"
"Yum- yea!" says the boy, his face lighting up, as he continues to dig through my chocolate flower beds.
"Children, I beg of you, please leave. It isn't restraunt hours."
"Oh, but it is, Ms. Old Lady." says the girl, grinning wider.
"My name is not Ms. Old Lady." I reprimand. "Please, call me Gramm."
"Oh, I wish I could, but what Gramm would deny her children food?" the boy says, stepping closer, the melted chocolate dripping down from his mouth.

Now I feel bad. Children have a way of doing that to me. Well, butternut. What am I supposed to do now? I can't leave those poor things to starve on my lawn till morning.