z

Young Writers Society

Snatched

36 Reviews

Reviews: 36
Sat Jan 01, 2011 12:25 am
AllyGrLxOX says...

Spoiler! :
So I've never written a short story before, long novels are more of my thing! :P So please keep that in mind as you read! Oh and I apologize for how short it is!

They always said that they would come. Threatening to bring their shrill whispers and moans that curdle the souls of the meek. With talons full of vicious delights always watching, ready to snatch away the poor and the strong. Tales of their menacing claws are told in the midst of the night while watchful parents stand guard. The way their dark claws rattle together, shaking the spines of the fearless.

They are the snatchers.

Dark and dastardly creatures that roam the nighttime streets and chill the wispy air. With wings that are able to scale the highest tower and beyond, full of thick murky feathers that blind the hopeful. They are immune to any chant to keep them away, any source of protection. Their spit colored red by those they’ve killed allows them to do whatever they please. When flesh approaches the deadly spit it begins to twist and turn, tormenting the helpless victim. We never thought they’d find us, so far up in the mountains and guarded by the lily dragon. We never considered that the Snatchers would meddle with the privileged and the gifted.

We were wrong.

On a cool December night they came and slayed the lily dragon, seizing our house. The whole family desperately tried our hand at fighting them off but to no avail. Their spit pierced the souls of my husband and my brother. Then they did the wicked task, they took my Ophelia. My precious, darling, child. My baby.