z

Young Writers Society

Vanguard's Veil (Part One)

Reviews: 2
Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:07 am
MrAlwins says...

Hello all, I am brand-spankin'-new to this awesome site so I don't know much of what to do. This is a story of mine that I have been working on in blotches for ~5 years. It has been more of a hobby than a gridiron project, so it has undergone multiple revisions, plot adjustments, and other hiccups along the way. Ultimately, this is where I find myself today.

I'm not sure if I'm doing this right, so help me out if I look like a goon.

Title: Vanguard's Veil
Genre: Science Fiction
Synopsis: Mitch Kroy was ready for his final season as the starting running back at Atwood High in Santa Clara, California. He was serious about his sport with a hard-nosed determination to capture a college scholarship by the end of the year. He was fit and ready for action, ready for anything. Or so he thought. The night of his eighteenth birthday came as the others did. The only thing different this time was where he woke up the next morning. Though stubborn at first, it doesn't take Mitch very long to realize his life will be forever different.

The story thus far is approx. 63,000 words. Based on Nate's guidelines, I would give the piece a 12+ rating. Ay, there are a few naughty words here and there, but nothing outlandish. I ended on a particular note that could pass for the end of a first novel, is glaring me in the eyes and asking sternly for a part two. That's why I put in (Part One) in the title.

I truly appreciate any reviews, and I can explain things if necessary. Warning: I attempted to make the dialogue as accurate to our generation as I saw fit. While it may be silly at times, I need to know if it's overwhelming. Conversely, I like using big terms in the rest of the text to make it sound sophisticated. I thought it would be a nice contrast. Who knows, maybe I am a goon. Thanks guys and gals. You rock.