Fri Apr 24, 2015 6:53 pm
View Likes
Lauren2010 says...

"You're in pretty good shape for the shape you are in."
Dr. Seuss Inspirational Article
By: @Lauren2010

Think and Wonder, Wonder and Think Weekend
April 24th-26th 2015

One of the hardest parts about being a writer, I think, is maintaining objectivity. Especially in places like YWS where there are writers of all kinds of ages, backgrounds, and experience levels are putting their work up in the same place for everyone to look at. It’s so easy to see someone else’s work and think why am I not as good as them or to hear about someone else’s successes and think why haven’t I done that yet. For some reason it sounds like the achievements of other people matter, when it honestly doesn’t at all.

In the last year, I’ve become a graduate student working toward my masters in fiction writing. I’m not sure that this is a truth for all graduate programs, but with my program we have a pretty solid spread of talent. Some of my colleagues are really excellent writers who know what kind of stories they want to write and how they’re going to go about writing them. Others are…less so. Because one of the things about getting your masters in writing is you don’t necessarily have to have an undergraduate degree in writing to get into a program. You have to be talented, but measuring talent is incredibly nebulous. So we’ve got several writers in my program who have only recently begun to write seriously. And, well, sometimes it shows.