z

Young Writers Society

A few Questions

31 Reviews

Reviews: 31
Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:03 pm
kjr5horses says...

Hello everyone,

I have been on YWS for almost a year now and I have been seeing things on the site that confuse and/or concern me.

One of the things have noticed is the topic "Should I continue this story?" or "Is this idea any good?". As a writer I receive many ideas everyday most of which don't work or are simply just not any good but I don't know this until I start a few pages of the idea.After a few pages and it does not work I use the backspace button or throw it away. Because as a writer I know when an idea is not working or a story is going nowhere. I write for myself not for my readers, so my question is Why do so many ask if the idea is good or not even if its not working out for them?

Another thing that I have noticed is most people get a great idea but instead of just writing they spend months sometimes a year to plan everything out. But by the time they are done they have no muse left for the story. I suppose I like to let my fingers go and let the characters do what they want, I don't plan I write because I am a writer. A writer writes, a planner well plans. Why can't people just write? Why do you plan every tiny little detail out?

Also why do you as the writer have to ask, "How do I make the readers care about my character?"....My question for you is Why do you care what the reader thinks? and Do you care about your characters? The chance is if you care about your characters then someone else will, why cater to everyone else's needs? Its exhausting and there is no way on this Earth to please everyone. Its impossible and then you end up unhappy and stop writing and start on a new novel.

Anyways just a few questions, I would love everyone's opinions about these and answers. :D :D :D To help de-boggle my mind!

~KJR~