z

Young Writers Society

What Inspires you?

60 Reviews

Reviews: 60
Wed Mar 16, 2011 8:14 am
Upile says...

As a writer I have found my inspiration to come at random times and not from anything specific. It is the most inconsistent thing ever, and when it's gone my entire body feels the pang and my fingers itch begging to be used! I have suffered from writer's block several times a year and the bout gets stronger every time. But when I'm inspired, I'm a writing machine staying up until ungodly hours typing away and loving every second of it. My question is: What Inspires you? I'm curious,tell me please..:)

129 Reviews

Reviews: 129
Thu Mar 17, 2011 12:37 am
Gracie says...

Hi Upile

I'm quite similar to you. Inspiration hits me at random times, like an idea or a line flashes into my head. I also write a lot at night. Last year I had a really big bout of insomnia and would stay up writing and writing. Then my insomnia went away and so did my writing. It's like the taps ran dry or something.

So I guess inspiration is a fickle. It comes and goes and we don't know when it's coming or going. Like most writers I think my inspiration comes from my own life and experiences, although I think we all have a tendency to heighten and dramatize our own life in our work.
I can't explain myself, I'm afraid, Sir, because I'm not myself you see.

Alice in Wonderland

489 Reviews

Reviews: 489
Sat Mar 19, 2011 12:09 am
View Likes
Dreamwalker says...

I mostly just get inspired by small things. Like if I see a bird outside, it'll remind me spring is here and then I'll want to write a whole slew of poetry about spring-time! (true story, I just did that today xD).

So, I guess I'm just way to sporatic to really give reason to my inspiration. Just that it happens. I can't complain!