z

Young Writers Society

Writing a cover letter for flash fiction/short stories

Random avatar

Reviews: 0
Sun Jul 18, 2010 2:13 pm
Bleusman says...

...as a high school student.

I've been sending out some of my work to publishers, but I've gotten scared away by the ones requesting cover letters. What am I supposed to write? Do they want me to summarize a 500 word story for them? The only one I've tried to write was for a 1400 word story, and even that came off as sounding pretentious and grasping. And then there comes the biography part: erm, I'm unpublished and I'm a high school student who hasn't really done much that's fascinating - what do I write for that which wouldn't make publishers immediately think less of my work?

Any tips? I see most people here, if they've published, are novelists, but I wonder if anyone's been in the same conundrum I'm in.

1220 Reviews

Reviews: 1220
Sun Jul 18, 2010 2:59 pm
Kale says...

Oftentimes, you don't need to include a cover letter. The main purpose of a cover letter is to establish your credence. If you've been published elsewhere/been involved in a respected workshop/studied under a respected author/etc., mention it. If not, however, cover letters are usually optional, and it only hurts you to mention things that work against you (such as being unpublished). Summarizing a short story/piece of flash fiction is also generally frowned upon since, unlike a novel, it is assumed that the editor will read the story through. Also, the shorter your cover letter is, the more likely it is to be read, and including a summary just increases the length.

Basically, if you can't write anything that won't give off a bad impression, it's best not to write a cover letter at all.