z

Young Writers Society

Touch typing with ten fingers

12 Reviews

Reviews: 12
Sat Jun 19, 2010 8:06 am
Kibble says...

I'll be honest. Until about two months ago, I typed almost entirely two-fingered. Maybe a thumb on the SHIFT sometimes, but otherwise, my non-index fingers basically napped. I got through Nanowrimo two-fingered, so strong was my belief that I would never touch type.

Then I decided to give it a try. I got a touch typing program and even colour-coded my keyboard (green for index finger, yellow for middle, orange for ring finger and, fittingly, pink for pinkey). At first it was so hard and confusing, I sometimes felt headachey or physically sick after a few minutes.

I'm still learning, but the speed and error rate is not unbearable anymore, and I can do it for a while. I think it helped that I could already type without looking; I knew where the keys were -- the issue was simply hitting them with the right fingers.

Here are some tips based on my experience so far...

Advantages of touch typing
1. It's faster. I'm not sure I've quite reached my pre-attempt speeds yet, but I can see how this will make it much easier to type at high speed. Beneficial for note-taking, bursts of inspiration, and of course, Nanowrimo!
2. It feels cool. Your wrists don't move as much, and somehow using the whole hand (actually, both hands) feels very engaging.
3. If you're going for a career in journalism or other writing, touch typing ability will probably be required.

Disadvantages of touch typing
1. Learning can be hard or even painful. See above... I've actually heard of someone getting Repetitive Strain Injury from learning to touch type.
2. It slows you down while you're learning. I still haven't reached pre-touch-typing speeds.
3. Thinking about your typing can impact on your ability to think about the content of what you're writing.
4. People might think it's weird that your keyboard is colour-coded.

Kibble's Tips for Touch Typing