z

Young Writers Society

I've been working on the same novel for four years!

137 Reviews

Reviews: 137
Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:55 pm
Bittersweet says...

My novel-in-progress Bittersweet I've worked on since the summer of 2006. Currently, it's a 170 pages, but I can't ever seem to bring myself to write it. The beginning is written horribly since I was so young and terrible at writing when I began the story. I've tried rewriting it several times, but I never get anywhere. Basically, I love this story to death. I love the plot and the characters. I just lack the power to write it and get it done.

What should I do to get myself enthusiastic about writing it? I've run out of ideas.

-Holly
eviscerate your fragile frame
spill it out in ragged form
a thousand different versions of yourself.

3821 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 3821
Tue Feb 17, 2009 12:00 am
Snoink says...

Er... I just recently finished my novel, FREAK, after seven and a half years. You can totally do it... but you need to be patient and have people that can help you through the frustrating parts. If it weren't for the people who were reading my story and all of its rewrites and guiding me along, I probably wouldn't have been able to finish it.
Ubi caritas est vera, Deus ibi est.

"The mark of your ignorance is the depth of your belief in injustice and tragedy. What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the Master calls the butterfly." ~ Richard Bach

Moth and Myth <- My comic! :D

88 Reviews

Reviews: 88
Tue Feb 17, 2009 12:02 am
TexanWriter says...

Hmmm... well, what I do for inspiration is daydream the next part of the story, and then act it out. Alone. In my room. As if I were in a play. Then I write it down/remember it until I want to write it down.

To get yourself to rewrite it, work on one paragraph at a time. Just copy one onto another document, then work on fixing it up. It may take forever with your 170 pages, but trust me, it works. And I'm a procrastinator.

Hope this helps!

-Tex