z

Young Writers Society

Aliens

590 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 590
Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:25 pm
Mageheart says...

I recently was inspired to write a new novel, which is tentatively going to be called Extraterrestrial. I won't start the first draft until I finish the second draft of my current novel, but I wanted to hear some thoughts on what the aliens in my story should look like. The story is set on Earth, and one of the aspects of it is that seemingly human characters are aliens who can shapeshift. I've been toying with the idea of creating an entirely new alien race or making them look like the alien down below.

Spoiler! :

I'm certain that the alien race doesn't look human, but I'm torn between both ideas. On one hand, I'd love to create a new species! I've never done that before, and I'm sure it would be a memorable experience. On the other hand, I'd love to tie in that race to famous alien sightings/encounters.

Thoughts?
mage

[ she/her, but in a boy kinda way ]

roleplaying is my platonic love language.

queer and here.

364 Reviews

Reviews: 364
Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:37 pm
View Likes
zaminami says...

What I would do is go Star Wars -- make a new one. If you use a typical alien, that is a) cliche and b) really hard to write description for. However, if you make your own alien, it's easier to describe and definitely not cliche.