z

Young Writers Society

How does one go about publishing an e-book on Kindle

98 Reviews

Reviews: 98
Sat Jun 04, 2016 12:31 pm
yizhongt says...

Hey everyone. I'm not sure whether I'm on the write forum, but does anyone have any experience or advise for publishing works on Kindle? Any advice or experience going through the process would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

506 Reviews

Reviews: 506
Sat Jun 04, 2016 2:46 pm
Sureal says...

I have no experience in it myself, but there seems to be lots of information available at Amazon as a starting point.
I wrote the above just for you.

53 Reviews

Reviews: 53
Sun Jun 12, 2016 2:20 pm
View Likes
jumpingsheep says...

Hi! I actually published a e-book on the Kindle a few years ago.

--The first thing you need to do is create a KDP (Kindle Digital Publishing) account. If you already have an Amazon account, then you can use that to login, however, if you're under 18, then you need to use a parent's account.
--After, you need to create a new title, and this is where KDP will walk you through the process of publishing your e-book.

Things to keep in mind:
--Edit. Edit many times. One of the stigmas surrounding self-published ebooks are their lack of revision. Revise, revise, revise. Have multiple people help edit your book.
--Be sure to read all the disclaimers about taxes and royalties. Kindle has several different royalty deals with several different benefits, so make sure you pick the one you want.
--Covers are very important. This is the first way you are going to attract new readers. I would recommend finding someone online to create your cover (keep in mind that they might request payment) or using a cover creating service such as Canva. Be sure to use copy-right free photos and such. I actually had a friend who did it for free (as long as she was credited), so I would recommend reaching out to friends first.