z

Young Writers Society

Name Change?

Should I change one of my character's names?

Yes
70%
No
30%

Total votes : 10

135 Reviews

Reviews: 135
Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:00 pm
lakegirls says...

So I've been writing about the same three characters for nine years (I know, I'm mildly crazy). One of my coworkers is editing it for me and she keeps telling me that two of my characters names are way too similar, to the point that she continuously confuses them. Her solution is to change one of their names.

Now, while she is doing an amazing job editing, she doesn't have any experience in this department and she also doesn't read the genre that my book is in. My apologizes for all the background information but I'm just wondering if I should listen to her advice and change a name or if I should keep them the same.

I just want opinions on what you guys think I should do! So please vote below :)

The two names are: Brooke and Bridget
Writing is the only thing that, when I do it, I don't feel I should be doing something else.
-Gloria Steinem

933 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 933
Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:09 pm
Iggy says...

The only similarity is the "Br" sound. Other than that, they're fine. They don't even rhyme in any way, shape, or form. Having "Bridget and Brooke this, Bridget and Brooke that" might get tedious after a while but it's nothing major, so I say no, leave as is.
“I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then."
- Lewis Carroll

767 Reviews

Reviews: 767
Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:16 pm
SpiritedWolfe says...

I agree with Iggy that they aren't too similar and that they're fine as is. However, what may be causing this confusion is how the two characters are introduced and/or established. Perhaps if their character traits are too similar is would be easier to confuse the two or if they were introduced in the same proximity, then it'd be harder to differentiate, but as names I say you keep them. It's how you know them, afterall.