z

Young Writers Society

Wish me luck!

241 Reviews

Reviews: 241
Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:33 pm
lyrical_sunshine says...

This is my first semester in drama and we're auditioning for parts in our play, Flowers for Algernon. I haven't tried out for anything since 5th grade, so I'm really nervous and really excited at the same time. I auditioned today, and a couple people told me I did really well, so that's good. But still, I'm a new student and I tried out for one of the lead roles, so I'm not sure how it'll go.

Anyway, all that to say wish me luck, and any acting tips from fellow thespians out there would be much appreciated!
“We’re still here,” he says, his voice cold, his hands shaking. “We know how to be invisible, how to play dead. But at the end of the day, we are still here.” ~Dax

Teacher: "What do we do with adjectives in Spanish?"
S: "We eat them!"

2631 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 2631
Tue Jan 08, 2008 7:04 pm
Rydia says...

Good luck, I hope you get the part! And the best advice I can give you is to:

One: Avoid nerves, get friends to practice lines with you and practice being in character. If nothing else, it's lots of fun.

Two: Do not try to sneak a script onto the set for a friend who is freaking out about her lines, especially if you're the fourth person to speak in the entire play. Lol.

Three: Have a flask of water off set so that you can have a drink if your throat is dry or starting to hurt.

Four: Do not let others do your make-up for you unless you trust them and know they wont use too much, too little or the wrong colours.

Five: Probably obvious and already drilled into you but don't turn your back to the audience unless it's for a specific, dramatic effect. Try to make sure they always have a side or front view, preferably side so that it looks more natural.
Writing Gooder

~Previously KittyKatSparklesExplosion15~

The light shines brightest in the darkest places.

816 Reviews

Reviews: 816
Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:42 pm
Leja says...