z

Young Writers Society

Manga

816 Reviews

Reviews: 816
Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:45 pm
Leja says...

So I'm new to the world of manga. I picked up some random ones lying around my friend's house, and they were alright. The next logical step? Find another one I might like to read.

Accomplishing next logical step, however, is proving to be somewhat difficult. So I love Howl's Moving Castle (and, actually, almost all the rest of Miyazaki's films) and am looking for a similar genre (for lack of a better word) of manga to read. Anyone have any suggestions?

280 Reviews

Reviews: 280
Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:07 am
Sumi H. Inkblot says...

:attacks:

Fruits Basket! Fruits Basket is probably one of the more....gentle, I guess...mangas, good for starting off.

I'm not to keen on CLAMP, the group, but Angelic Layer was a cute series about "Battle Dolls".

Not that it's particularly in Miyazaki's league (who is?), but Rave Master I find quite amusing. Especially Nakajima, that big sunflower thing. It's action and weird, but in a funny way.

For a Miyazaki-ish movie, try "A Dog of Flanders", by Nippon Animation, I think...it's a sweetly sad movie. The people at wiki don't like it enough to have a page. a full page, anyhoo.

I'll think up more before long...

the site where I read the stuff you can't get at bookstores, like random chapters, is mangavolume.com
ohmeohmy

189 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 189
Sun Jul 15, 2007 5:27 pm
tinny says...

I'd agree with Sumi about starting on a gentlw manga. I don't like Fruits Basket, but it's a good thing to start with I guess, I'd also recommend FLCL, it's two volumes long, and slightly surreal, but still quite sweet.

I started off reading Ranma 1/2 when I was 13, though I'm not really sure about what you'd think of it, there's a lot of gender-bending. You'd probably be best of looking at shoujo to start with, that's girls manga, though shounen is quite fun too ^^

*rambles*