z

Young Writers Society

How Do You Create a Character?

207 Reviews

Reviews: 207
Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:17 am
Rin321 says...

Hey! First ever started forum. :)

Okay, so I am writing a book (hopefully it will turn into one) and I am having some trouble coming up with character traits.

How do you come up with your unique and dynamic characters?
Roses are red
Violets are blue
I am a funtastic awesome writer-
what are you?

You are an awesome writer as well-that is what you are

:superman: :superman: :superman: :superman: :superman: :superman: :superman: :superman:

110 Reviews

Reviews: 110
Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:43 am
View Likes
Zolen says...

I often make the worlds first, and characters second, carving their personalities out of how they react to the world.
Self quoting is the key to sounding wise and all knowing.

173 Reviews

Reviews: 173
Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:18 am
fukase says...

I would think of my friends, and start writing the even the smallest details about them.

And try to base it on a real human's characteristic. Characters aren't just words on paper!

Sometimes, I would randomly look at the walking humans around me and start to pull out my tablet and you-know-what-happened-next.

Characters are made up from our imaginations. But our imaginations based on knowledge and experiences.

~Memo
I love Koku.
He is damn cute and should be the main character
and not some lazy old man that supposedly genius but a sucker in his own life.
Koku is Koku.
Koku is CUTE.
~ B-The Beginning (A Netflix Anime.)

862 Reviews

Reviews: 862
Tue Dec 15, 2015 6:20 am
View Likes
Morrigan says...

Usually, this is an analysis technique for actors, but it works for creating characters as well. Think of the character's GOTE. GOTE stands for

Goal
Obstacle (other)
Tactic
Expectation.

Goal is what the character wants.
Obstacle is what stops the character from getting what they want.
Tactic is how the character plans on overcoming the obstacle to reach their goal.