z

Young Writers Society

Creating a group of people in your (fantasy) worlds

59 Reviews

Reviews: 59
Mon Mar 12, 2007 7:58 pm
AWritersFantasy says...

By group, I mean...take a group like the Elders on Charmed. The Elders are the leaders of the White Lighters, who are guardian angel types for witches and/or future White Lighters. In a way, they have their own society. They have their own set of rules that White Lighters are meant to follow, their own magic abilities...

So if you were going to create a society of sorts similar to the Elders, what things would you consider? What questions would you ask yourself? I'm basically looking for example questions so that I can answer them myself for my own purposes. I've thought of a few, but I'm not very good at trying to create societies like this. I guess what I'm looking for is questions like the ones at http://www.sfwa.org/writing/worldbuilding4.htm.

Random avatar

Reviews: 156
Mon Mar 12, 2007 8:01 pm
McMourning says...

Hello!
Thanks for the link!
At the bottom of that page is a "Next" button, which leads to general questions. These will be useful for anyone, not just fantasy authors.
"One voice can be stronger than a thousand voices, " Captain Kathryn Janeway

59 Reviews

Reviews: 59
Mon Mar 12, 2007 8:10 pm
AWritersFantasy says...

Yeah, I know- I was just hoping to use that page as more of a secondary source when creating the society I'm hoping to create. I'm not 100% sure if half of the questions they ask are really ones I'm going to know how to answer/are really going to apply to the "society" (specifically my idea with the Watchers) I'm going to be creating in the story.

Oh, and you're welcome. ^_^

Random avatar

Reviews: 156
Mon Mar 12, 2007 8:12 pm
McMourning says...

Of course, your Watchers may not relate to the questions. But, I was just putting it out there for other writers.
"One voice can be stronger than a thousand voices, " Captain Kathryn Janeway

3821 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 3821