Young Writers Society

Ask an Engineer

147 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 147
Tue Dec 08, 2020 11:17 pm
View Likes
Carina says...

Does your literary work follow the laws of physics? Do you need a STEM situation to be as realistic as possible? Do you want to know about the aftermath of a crazy theoretical science situation that could happen? Then ask away, because you're at the right place!

For context, I am a Mechanical Engineer EIT with R&D experience. I don't do as much writing these days, so I thought I'd do my best to help out other users with their stories! Engineering is a broad subject, but luckily my discipline is the least specialized, so I can answer questions that relate to the following subjects (from most to least specialized):
  • Thermodynamics (law of energy conservation)
  • Heat Transfer (conduction, convection, radiation, EM spectrum)
  • Fluid Mechanics (air, water, or any other fluid at rest or in motion)
  • Statics/Dynamics (Newton's Laws)
  • Mechanics of Materials (stress, strain, shear, torque, torsion)

I can answer most things under those categories, but I'm more of a subject matter expert in the following:
  • Energy usage and analysis (any applied energy source like power plants, batteries, fuel cells, etc)
  • Nuclear science* (fission, fusion, shielding, radiation, waste)
  • Design optimization (machine design)

* keep in mind that I am not a nuclear engineer; I've simply worked in the nuclear industry (nuclear power plant + nuclear nonproliferation for long-term storage) and have taken multiple energy classes to understand the conceptual basics. I would not be able to demonstrate complex nuclear physics, for example.

Engineering is simply applied science, so example questions of the topics above could include:
  • If there was a nuclear fallout, how would one obtain a reliable source of electricity?