Young Writers Society

Novel Revisions

590 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 590
Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:46 pm
View Likes
Mageheart says...

Hello! I'm currently about the embark on revisions for my novel, but I've never gotten this far with any of my previous books. Though I do have a list of things to change or elaborate on, I'm not sure about the process of novel revising in general. Do any of the more experienced novel writers here have any words of wisdom for revising, or is just like revising any other piece of literature?

Thank you in advance for any help that you can give!
mage

[ she/her, but in a boy kinda way ]

roleplaying is my platonic love language.

queer and here.

1125 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 1125
Sun Oct 01, 2017 4:32 pm
View Likes
StellaThomas says...

lol I am by no means an expert but I'll give it a go!

Step 1. Break Up With Draft 1.
The first thing I do is I let a project rest for a while. For me, this can be several months, but for you it might be a lot shorter! But I just don't think about it. I work on something else. I put distance between myself and that first draft. The reason is because to be a good editor, you need to be objective as possible. You need to be able to recognise what parts of your story are good, and what parts need improvement.

2. Reopen relations with Draft 1.

So after you feel like you're not still in an emotionally fraught relationship with that piece of work, take it back out of the drawer (real or theoretical), and read through from beginning to end. You probably - as you mentioned - already have a good idea of the changes you need to make. But as you read through you'll see other things that you mightn't haven noticed first time around! And opportunities will arise. For instance, one of the things I always have to do with new drafts is mention concepts that I forgot in the draft beforehand. Your read through will also show you where to put these.