z

Young Writers Society

I need some help

42 Reviews

Reviews: 42
Sat Oct 31, 2015 7:36 am
View Likes
Storygirl95 says...

Okay, guys. I never thought a day would come when I'd ask for something like this. Please don't judge me haha.

I need some help with incorporating a story element. I am aware that, as a writer, I should know how to do this. It's a little disconcerting that I don't just know how to do it myself.

Here's the deal. The conflict in my romance novel is that the main character doesn't want to let anyone in since her father died. She's scared she'll lose someone she loves again. She plays it off, goes on dates with guys she isn't too serious about. But when she finds the one she might be meant to be with, she falls for him. She's torn between the love and fear she feels of the relationship either failing or losing the guy.

My question is: How do I incorporate this? It can't all be in one scene, but I don't want them to break up twenty times while the male character just has to sit there and take that. That's unrealistic.

If I just put her anxieties in her thoughts, how do I keep it threading through the story without it seeming repetitive? And how do I balance her ecstatic feelings of warmth as their romance progresses and the fear that the she's losing her ability to keep him out of her heart? It's two very conflicting things and I'm having a hard time representing both.

Any ideas?

Once again, I'm sorry for asking such a long and amateur question. I've never done anything so in depth in the romance genre before. Usually my conflicts come in the form of people trying to kill the characters. Just something exterior based. So this is pretty new to me.
Johnny was a chemist's son but Johnny is no more, for what Johnny thought was H2O was H2SO4. :wink:

173 Reviews

Reviews: 173
Sat Oct 31, 2015 7:55 am
View Likes
fukase says...

Greetings.