z

Young Writers Society

Printing out a hard-copy?

209 Reviews

Reviews: 209
Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:02 pm
artemis15sc says...

I was at a writer's conference with Lisa Mangum and she suggested printing out a hard-copy of your novel. She pointed out that words look different off the computer screen, and it's easier to catch mistakes. That makes sense. However:

1. I am a poor college student, and spending that much money scares me.
2. I'm a little bit a green freak, and I think every little bit counts, so printing off my novel makes me uncomfortable.

Note: novel's about 95,000 words.

Anyone have experience with this? Is it worth it to print it off, or not?

Thanks guys!
Check out my newly published YA fantasy novel here!

http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/SaraETall

745 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 745
Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:24 pm
View Likes
Lumi says...

I had a friend in college who, after reading Harry Potter, decided to write his own contemporary fantasy. I encouraged him each step of the way, but when he went to share it with beta readers, he decided to print it out. This began a snowball effect of printing-after-printing as people would point out his mistakes and the things he could improve.

Basically, he started spiraling.

My advice is to stay digital, but pick up the habit of using beta readers. Having new eyes on your work helps catch mistakes just as well as your own eyes on your own paper--though I'd say it's even better. Furthermore, you have YWS as a utility, and I'd make the most of that. Post chapters and request readers in the WRFF forum; recruit betas by making your novel its own club; generally do things that garner attention and fresh eyes towards your work.