z

Young Writers Society

Hello!

19 Reviews

Reviews: 19
Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:27 am
TheThing says...

As you can tell, I'm new. But from what I've seen, I think I'll like it here.

I'm not new at forums; I've been going to the forum on [url]newgrounds.com[/url] for about 2 years now, and that's also where I've post some stories under the same username. (I wouldn't read them; most aren't that good/not very appropriate for young people :oops:).

I've been writing since the 6th grade, when, after reading Ray Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451 I knew what my purpose in life was. I have been told I was a good writer in 1st grade, where my stories were above and beyond what kids did at that age, or so I've been told.

I love Science Fiction, Fantasy, and a little Fiction (Grapes of Wrath, 19 Minutes, etc.), and I write mostly in that genre. I'm full of ideas, but slow to write them.

I've gotten some criticism from the Newgrounds community, but unless you're a very popular user, you tend to get overlooked (as by the amount of reviews on my stories over there, if you read them), and overall, it's not a good place for good reviews.

For those who like horror/fantasy/sci-fi, and want a site to submit/review works, try http://critters.org/; I quite because of the amount of reviews you need to do, and I didn't have too much I wanted to submit. But it's very good, and has gotten a massive overhaul since I last took a peak.

What I really want to get out of this forum is to make me less verbose (as this post shows), and honing my descriptive writing, like when I need a reader to feel disgusted or joy at something.

126 Reviews

Reviews: 126
Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:55 am
casey_kent says...

Hey there!

Welcome to YWS!

Before anything else, please read the rules and the FAQ. This will help you out a lot. We have a rule which indicates that you have to make 2 reviews first before you post anything. After doing this, try to maintain a 2:1 review-post ratio.