z

Young Writers Society

In Need of Writing Advice

Reviews: 0
Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:18 am
DianaEliz says...

I have discovered the Hudson Prize sponsored by Black Lawrence Press, a writing competition where the winner receives a book publication and 10 author copies. Submissions are either a manuscript of a poetry collection or a manuscript of a short story collection. I am currently composing some short stories that I have and I am writing others for my collection, but I am hesitant. Doing research, accomplished authors recommend that your collection be comprised of your previously published works with some new stuff. PROBLEM NUMBER ONE: I am unpublished. I have no previously published works. Researching past winners of the Hudson Prize, I discovered that most of the winners have already been successful authors, either being published in literary magazines or having won awards for their published works. PROBLEM NUMBER TWO: I am only an undergraduate, in my junior year getting a Bachelor's in Creative Writing. Most of the winners have a M.F.A or have experience in the professional world of writing, which I don't have. Because of these two problems I am hesitant to go further with writing my collection and submitting it to this contest. I am in need of some advice of whether or not I should be bold enough to submit without any publication experience and already won awards. Should I take the time to write my collection although I am young and inexperienced compared to the previous winners? Should I be brave enough to believe that my collection of short stories is good enough for publication? Any advice that you have will be greatly appreciated!

48 Reviews

Reviews: 48
Thu Mar 01, 2018 5:17 pm
CocoaCat says...

I think that you should at least try. Everybody starts somewhere, so I say GO FOR IT :D

32 Reviews

Reviews: 32
Thu Mar 01, 2018 6:51 pm
SnowGhost says...