Young Writers Society

The Hypno-Anti-Writer's Block (ha ha)

1258 Reviews

Reviews: 1258
Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:16 pm
Sam says...

How to beat writers block...

OK, I learned this technique from my mom. :D

When you go to bed, you know those couple minutes before you actually drift off that you feel warm and sleepy and are probably deep in thought? While you're in that state, just think once or twice, 'I can write. I am a GOOD writer.' It works, trust me. Once, while trying to pass a keyboarding test, I thought 'I'm the best typer in the class.' (sounds conceited, i know, but it works) the next day, i was...

This is actually a form of hypnosis, it's kind of hard to explain. There's three different parts of your brain that each work in a different way. One keeps track of what's happening to you in the presesnt. The other one stores the information for later, and the last keeps track of all your body functions. The first only keeps track of like 3 things at a time, like 'I smell chicken' or 'Math quiz on monday.' The other part of the brain will remember that, but it won't be readily available.

While you're deep in thought, like right before you go to sleep, the second part of your brain [the one that stores everything for later] is working, so if you tell yourself at that time, you will become that. :D

Sorry, it's mucho confusing to explain, but it works.
Graffiti is the most passionate form of literature there is.

- Demetri Martin

683 Reviews

Reviews: 683
Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:32 pm
Emma says...

Okay, Im going to try that tonight!

Heehee!

594 Reviews

Reviews: 594
Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:38 am
Crysi says...

Reminds me of lucid dreaming (one way to enter it, anyway) where you tell yourself you will know you're dreaming. Or something like that.
Love and Light

221 Reviews

Reviews: 221
Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:50 am
Elelel says...