z

Young Writers Society

Algebra 3 Word Problems: Path of a Projectile

497 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 497
Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:32 am
Teague says...

Okay, so I'm a total numbskull and I left my book at school, but I'm seriously having issues with word problems and paths of projectiles. For the word problems I have issues putting all the words into numbers and variables, and for projectiles I have no idea what the formula h=-16t^2+Vo means.

Anyone have any idea what I'm on about and can explain these things in layman's terms for me?

15 Reviews

Reviews: 15
Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:41 am
Teufelshund says...

I'm not very good with mathematics and I haven't come across this formula yet, but I think V=velocity, t=time, h=height. That's what those variables have represented in my former classes.
Good luck :wink:
Last edited by Teufelshund on Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Semper Fidelis

"If I became a philosopher, if I have so keenly sought this fame for which I'm still waiting, it's all been to seduce women basically. "

-Jean-Paul Sartre

10 Reviews

Reviews: 10
Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:47 am
Max McKali says...

h=-16t^2+Vo

quadratic, right?

y=ax^2+bx+c

y=h
t=x

Vo is the original velocity, i believe. since the 16t is a NEGATIVE, the parabola should open downward, meaning the parabola will have a maximum. to find the maximum use the equation:

x=-b/2a

do you have a number substitute for Vo??
"All for one and one for all- that is our motto, is it not?"

488 Reviews

Reviews: 488
Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:02 am
View Likes
Meshugenah says...

What you have there is a basic height equation, I do believe.

h is the height of the object at any given time t, for what velocity Vo, is given. Now, what are the problems you have? Any in particuliar you can't figure out?