z

Young Writers Society

Publishing Vs. Location

12 Reviews

Reviews: 12
Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:48 pm
maleficent says...

I am very unsure about the country I'm setting my novel in.
I plan on setting my novel in America and various states within the country, however I live in the UK myself. I also plan on submitting my work to agents and publishers here, so my question is whether or not the setting of my story could actually harm my chances of somebody being interested in it.

I just don't think an agent or publisher based in England will be interested in a novel that is based within America. Bare in mind that I am only just looking into the possibilities of publishing so I'm very new to the field.

Go easy on me! :)
"Beware the darkness in your heart. The Heartless prey upon it."

289 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 289
Tue Jul 09, 2013 4:32 pm
View Likes
Caesar says...

Now I don't know much about publishing myself, but I think that a publisher, regardless of country, will be more interested in the content of the story, rather than its setting. Otherwise, alternate world novels (and most of fantasy) would die.
vulgus vult decipi, ergo decipiatur

1272 Reviews

Reviews: 1272
Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:00 pm
View Likes
Rosendorn says...

Content of the novel is important, like Louis said. People can enjoy works set in other countries, and that tends not to affect its popularity.

However, American fans might rip you to shreds for language usage!

There are lots and lots of variances between UK and US language uses. These three lists will probably come in real handy.

Past the obvious "chips" meaning this in the US and this in the UK, there are a bunch of little tiny nuances in languages that change regionally. Like whether or not you call carbonated beverages "soda", "pop", or "coke". Each particular state can have its own dialect (stuff even I'm not familiar with, seeing as I'm Canadian).