z

Young Writers Society

How do you describe music in writing?

160 Reviews

Reviews: 160
Thu Apr 04, 2013 2:30 am
View Likes
Rurouni says...

Hi! I'v been wondering, how do you describe music, through words? A character of mine has a band he's part of and its wild and crazy music. How would I describe the drums instead of "da da dum dra dum ect..." Help is greatly needed!
Cookies!

163 Reviews

Reviews: 163
Thu Apr 04, 2013 2:50 am
View Likes
Kit says...

I am a musician by trade (noun: meaning broke) and I can tell you everyone experiences music very differently. Some of my mates, especially those with perfect pitch have synesthesia, where the sound of things stimulate their other senses as well. I find I can taste music quite strongly some times. Write down everything you can feel and hear from the way it sounds in your head, any metaphors, any movement in the beat, you may get a lot of random in there, but you may also find a way to describe things that hadn't been used, and that would be the most evocative.

If you're just looking for some basic descriptors, 'syncopated' and 'mixed meter' are pretty good to describe rhythms that you don't quite anticipate. If it sounds like he has fast deep loud beats, he may have a double kick pedal. Basic drum parts are he snare, toms, side drum, bass drum, cymbals. He may have wooden or plastic tipped sticks, he might use a brush on the cymbals. How does he move? Is the movement from his wrists, his arms, does he put his shoulders into it, the whole force of his body. Does he sweat? How does he sit on the stool, is he almost falling off of it into the skins, or sitting back, effortlessly. Watch vids on youtube of your favourite bands, and you can find a way to describe the way he moves and sounds in a way that makes sense to you and your reader. I suppose the way to think of it is music isn't sound no more than a story is dots on a page.
Princess of Parataxis, Mistress of Manichean McGuffins

160 Reviews

Reviews: 160