Young Writers Society

Weirdness is good!!

Random avatar

Reviews: 38
Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:16 am
View Likes
MattJF says...

Hi YWS!
My name is Matt and I'm a writer. My goal in life is to be a famous novelist, musician and songwriter. It all started for me when I was around seven years old. I have been reading for as long as I can remember because as a baby instead of toys I was given books by my mum I was obsessed with Harry Potter and when I was seven, I finished Harry Potter and the goblet of fire. I knew then that I definitely wanted to be an author. I was always daydreaming or sitting with a nose in a book I just read and read.

As I got older my interests grew and I became heavily interested in music. I was always changing my look, to copy what my favourite bands or singers were wearing. I remember when I was nine, I was obsessed with Evanescence and went through this goth stage were I would only wear black. When I reached high school, I realised straight away that I didn't fit in at all with anyone but I had my own group of friends. I began to listen to artists like La Roux, The pet shop boys, the killers, Lady Gaga and Little Boots. I was and still am obsessed with the eighties fashion and music. I discovered also Pop art and Andy Warhol. And also Avant Garde. I became Obsessed with the notion that I could use my body as a blank canvas, and so I began to wear my own unique style. I modified my own clothes. I bought chain braces and basically any other items of clothing and I try as hard as I can to look different from anyone else in my school. And I try my utmost hardest not to conform.