z

Young Writers Society

(insert witty and way too creative topic title here)

Random avatar

Reviews: 15
Thu Dec 23, 2004 10:11 pm
Morran says...

As if any of you are interested. (Let's not kid ourselves.) So, how about starting with the obvious so that we can get it out of the way.

I'm a twenty-one-year-old male, as you can about guess from the lovely information table on the left, here. (A big round of applause for information at our fingertips.) And I'm a writer. Yay, obvious.

Now for some less-obvious stuff.

I go to school in Iowa and I know Galatea and A.O. Avalon - 'twas Galatea who invited me. While I am a junior in college in Iowa, my hometown is in North Dakota - a little town of 200 people. I gradutaed with a high school class of 28. Small town, USA, you might say.

I write nearly everything; I've done novels, short stories, poetry, regular fiction, teen fiction, fantasy, sci/fi, nonfiction, and mixes thereof. It'd be better to say what I *haven't* done yet: Flat-out romance, mystery, and horror, though I add elements of romance and mystery to many of my novels. Horror I just plain don't like. So I probably won't experiment anytime soon.... but I will eventually. Needless to say, I like to be diverse - I think all writers should try to expand their horizons.

I'm working on really trying to imprint pictures on my readers' minds. If I could have a writer's creed it would be "Show, not tell." Then again, I also think all writers need to work on that - definitely self included.

I like to read any prose that can keep my interest, and I like both rhymed and unrhymed poetry, so long as it is creative and says something. I dislike poetry that feels like a verbal laxative spilled onto the page, and I'm as guilty of having written some such poems as the next guy. I don't like those either. :) I don't like everything I write, so a lot of it stays on the page and doesn't see the light of forums like these.