z

Young Writers Society

Flower Shower

182 Reviews

Reviews: 182
Fri Jan 04, 2013 5:15 am
View Likes
shiney1 says...

Zest takes a mid-morning rest at the edge of the forest, and turns to find himself in the mist of a shower of ripe flowers.

Some background info: I am pretty glad with the way this one turned out. All you have to do is look at my deviantART gallery to see that I never draw scenery, and that is mostly because I am not that good at it... So this is big for me!
I drew a previous background, which took about 3 hours, but had to start all over because it looked awful. But I am glad I did not give up :D

Also, I have never ever done cel shading before, but I felt the impulse and wanted to see if I could pull it off. Did I pull if off..?

Done in PSE with a tablet, took at least 8 hours.
The foliage brushes I used belong to their respective creators on deviantART.

Spoiler! :
If you do not remember my character Zest or are kind of mixed up about what he exactly looks like, you can find more poses of him here http://shiney4ever.deviantart.com/art/Z ... -316710311
"If you ever have a problem don't say 'Hey God I have a big problem.' Rather 'Hey Problem... I have a big God and it's all going to be okay."

739 Reviews

Reviews: 739
Sun Jan 06, 2013 10:29 pm
View Likes
xXTheBlackSheepXx says...

Shiney!! It's great to see you back on YWS ^_^

You've certainly improved! This is a really amazing picture! I'm always blown away at how much detail you add to your dragons, and the background just took it to a whole new level :) I also dread drawing backgrounds so I admire you giving it a shot (also, trashing your first 3 hour design and starting over takes a lot of determination!)

First of all, the cell shading looks great, it really brings out the dragon I think.