Home » Forums » Community » Serious Discussion and Debate

Is Romance dead in the young?

Post a reply
450 Reviews

Reviews: 450
Wed Mar 16, 2011 8:54 pm
View Likes
Dreamwalker says...

Oh where did the passionate romantics go!

I don't know about anyone else, but, from my stand-point, the lack of romanticism in youth of today is appalling. By romance, I don't necessarily mean the 'lovey-dovey mush' that fills contemporary fiction, but romance as a passion and a way of life. For one to be a romantic does not mean that you need to be in love.

What I'm trying to get at is that I was sitting the other day, talking to a very good friend of mine, and she was gushing over a note she had recieved for her significant other. She, of course, had to get me to read it, so of course I did. My inner thoughts though were that 'wow, this is a load of bull'. It was filled with those one-liners that have just about as much emotion as metal spoon.

As a writer, I search from the romance and the passion that once filled my nights (reading of course!), such as Charles Dickens, and Emily Bronte. There is a passionate way in which everything had once been but, when I take a look at the world now, I fear that such a thing as the romantics will soon be a term of the past.

Do you agree?
Are you against?
If so, why?

I personally fear for the youth of today. This thought of what was once real is being replaced with this cookie cutter version that is so far from the original passion. I hope I'm wrong or that maybe its just where I live. Either way, in St. Catharines, Ontario, romance is dead. Hopefully its not in the world.
Suppose for a moment that the heart has two heads, that the heart has been chained and dunked in a glass booth filled with river water. The heart is monologuing about hesitation and fulfillment while behind the red brocade the heart is drowning. - R.S

106 Reviews

Reviews: 106
Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:40 pm
View Likes
Nightshade says...