z

Young Writers Society

starting out

Reviews: 3
Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:28 pm
v12dude says...

so ok im 16, just doing my GCSEs, and i realised ive got a hell of a long summer in head of me and i thought and thought and thought...
then i thought (Lol to all the thoughts) maybe i shud try my hand at writing.
So where do I start?
are there any decent places to write novels (on the web) where they get notice and u get constructive comments about ur writing and may potentially lead you on to being able to publish you books.
I dont really want anything thats overly competitive though
thanks for any help

18 Reviews

Reviews: 18
Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:34 pm
gryffgotgame says...

Hi, I'm a newbie too lol. Everyone on this site is above and beyond nice and have helped me a lot. This is an awesome place to actually get some real feedback on how to improve your writing and start out on your writing. Remember to review writing and people will do the same for your writing. Have fun!!!

160 Reviews

Reviews: 160
Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:57 pm
Krupp says...

It's cool to hear you guys are new to this...I was fifteen when I wrote my first novella, so I can tell you from experience that the first time is going to be the hardest writing something.

Depending on what kind of writing you're interested in, poetry or fictional writing (novels, etc.) I always advise you have a clear idea in your head before you write. If you're focused on poetry, think about certain emotions driven by events that have happened in your life. If you're writing a novel, think about a story that will always leave a reader interested for more.

That's the best I can give you; I had nothing to go on when I was starting out besides that. Just write; for now, that'll suffice. Post your stuff on here as often as you can and I'll come by and read it for you and let you know what you can fix.
I'm advertising here: Rosetta...A Determinism of Morality...out May 25th...2010 album of the year, without question.