Young Writers Society

The "I need medical advice for my novel" thread

1125 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 1125
Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:08 pm
View Likes
StellaThomas says...

Hi YWS! So as some of you know, and some of you are about to learn, I am currently a third year medical student who loves sharing what she knows to help others with their writing.

So I was thinking that I'd like to do some Writing Gooder posts answering questions you've always wanted answered but can't phrase properly in Google talking about common medical queries that novelists face. Want to know how seriously injured your character is going to be? Need to know how blood transfusions work? Want an interesting way to kill someone off? Need to know a particular disease process? The inner workings of a hospital?

Please please ask me!

I'm going to leave this thread open indefinitely and I'll get to all the questions I can. Ideally I'd like to answer around five questions in a post so by all means bombard me with as many as you like at once and I'll get around to them all!

And remember that this isn't totally selfless on my part - it's fun and it's also helping me revise?

So go ahead :)
"Stella. You were in my dream the other night. And everyone called you Princess." -Lauren2010

663 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 663
Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:25 pm
Messenger says...

Oh my I will definitely be using this thread. Just a heads up for later. Nothing right now but I am def subscribing and liking.

494 Reviews

Reviews: 494
Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:46 pm
View Likes
Holysocks says...

This is cool, I'm really into First Aid... but the medical aspect is something that I do not really know about, so this might be useful ( now I want to kill someone off! ).
100% autistic

488 Reviews

Reviews: 488
Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:15 pm
View Likes
Meshugenah says...

If this is your idea of revision, you win. Game over. Everyone else can just go home, now.