z

Young Writers Society

Working with different age spans?

Reviews: 0
Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:19 am
Serenity612 says...

I'm a starting out writer and well I never have written a fantasy novel. And I'm having trouble working with age spans. I know I'm making it harder for myself by making a different age span compared to the humans in the novel but it seems necessary because in my novel one of the races I work with is Elementals and it seems right that they live longer. In my novel, 1 human year is 1000 elemental years. And they come of age to marry and what not at 13,000 or 13. My problem is how do I explain the aging in my novel without just having my MC randomly say that? Or is that what I'm going to have to do?
The Mark Of The Ancients Series
Book 1: A Brother's Promise In Progess
Book 2: An Undying Brotherhood In Planning
Book 3: The New Life In Planning

1220 Reviews

Reviews: 1220
Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:41 pm
Kale says...

You can mention that Elementals are long-lived and give hints throughout the story at how big the difference in lifespans is. Another alternative would be to have a character ask someone just how long Elementals live for.

If you do go with the latter, just be sure that it makes sense for the asking character to be asking. For instance, if the difference in age spans is common knowledge, it wouldn't make sense for an older character to ask the question. A child, on the other hand, might ask anyway just to see if it's really true, or if the adults were just pulling their leg.
Secretly a Kyllorac, sometimes a Murtle.
There are no chickens in Hyrule.
Princessence: A LMS Project
WRFF | KotGR

1464 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 1464
Wed May 02, 2012 3:55 am
View Likes
JabberHut says...

Kyllorac gives sound advice!