z

Young Writers Society

New Member with some Strong Opinions

8 Reviews

Reviews: 8
Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:55 pm
Southern_Belle says...

Yeah, yeah, yeah. . . I know. Why does anyone want to listen to me? I mean, I'm a new member, I haven't posted any of my own stories yet, and you can't even see if I'm legitimate or not. So you shouldn't have to care about what I have to say, right?

Well, you actually should. And for several reasons.

First of all, let me establish my legitimacy. I've been writing for a long time, and I mean a VERY LONG TIME, considering how old I am. Currently, I am 18 years old, and I've been writing (and writing seriously) since I was 6 years old. That's a period of 12 years, for those of you who can't subtract, lol. Secondly, I've been studying writing for quite a while now. I've been enrolled in AP English and literature courses since I was 14, which have helped me perfect my writing. (But by all means, my writing is still far from perfect.) I'm also currently taking a college-level fiction writing course, which is taught by a nationally renowned, published author. So, now I'm sure that you understand I know what I'm talking about.

Okay, so now you're probably wondering what the hell I said all of that for. Well, here's what I was really intending to say. And please don't take it offensively, because I'm not trying to stab at anyone or their beliefs, or their actions regarding this site. I'm merely voicing an opinion.

First of all, I think sites like this one are a wonderful idea, and I mean that sincerely. I like having the chance to have my work critiqued and perhaps even edited by my peers. Often times, our peers are our most helpful audience because they think as we do and are thus better critics.

But unfortunately, the good often comes with bad.