z

Young Writers Society

Brothers

33 Reviews

Reviews: 33
Sun Dec 05, 2010 8:43 am
View Likes
Roal says...

This is my first time doing a short story so I don't really know how to balance things out... heck I don't even know how to balance things out in novels xD
Please give feed backs and likes :]

Brothers

August 27, 2010
“Alright, petit frère,” he said as we stood in our backyard, our feet on the grass. “I want you to have a practice first, so punch these as fast and swift as you can. Don’t tire yourself out.”
He held up the two punching mitts. It was black on the front and back with red stripes in between it. I hauled up my hands into a semi-crouched position and gave the mitts a left jab then a right. He slowly stepped back. “Duck.” He warned and threw a left hook at me. I crouched with haste and before I stood up.
“Uppercut.” He commanded, placing his right mitt sideways. I did what he said and curved my hand as it bashed the mitt.
Bon, now let’s try that again—go.”
I tried it again before he gave out new orders. “Now a hook—go.”
I swung my arm at him with full force, he pompously blocked it.
“Wait a second.” He stopped. My brother walked toward me and said, “We’re going to do a 360 backhand.”
He positioned me, my right leg front and left leg back. Both stood on the same line. He paced behind me and directed, “I want you to turn and hit me with your best shot.”
I took a deep breath and waited for the right moment. Hoisting up my arms, I made a sharp turn and slammed my backhand on the mitt. That really hurts. I bit my lips, trying to get the pain away from my hand.
“That was a great hit—again.”
The pain got worse as I did the 360 backhand again. And by the time I did it three times, I paused and took off my boxing gloves. My knuckles and backhand was glowing red. He took his punching mitts off and ended the session. “We’re done for today.”

January 16, 2017