z

Young Writers Society

The Mansion chapter 1

123 Reviews

Reviews: 123
Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:49 pm
View Likes
Lord Anzius says...

The Mansion is a fantasy story that happens in the world we know, in England, somewhere in the border of London. Time is a few years after World War 2. I myself think that this first chapter is a bit boring. I hope to get criticism both good and bad, and some advice as I am a newbie.

The Stories From The Mansion.

Vol. 1

THE NEW MANSION

The view was beautiful, as the sun was just rising from the east hitting the snow, making a bright, blindingly breathtaking glow. It was a strikingly nice day in January, and I was very bored. I sighed, looking at the birds flying to the south; away from the cold winter, wishing that I could have been one of them.

I adjusted my reading-spectacles and stared at the ancient, tattered book in my hands. The title of the book was, The Ventures of Napoleon Bonaparte. The book was actually very fascinating with its true stories, and shining hand painted picture of Napoleon on the front, with engraved golden letters over it… I gazed throughout the room, letting out a great frustrated sigh. Everything was broken and torn apart; the furniture was old and awful and the ceiling looked like it would collapse any minute, it even had holes on it at some spots. It smelled rotten in the mansion. As I was cursing the world I cursed myself for buying a house from a catalogue called: A builder’s dream…
My furniture was mostly second hand and did not really match, my arm chair and couch were the only things that did.